Human-Computer Interaction

Semester 1 2015/2016

MSc / Level 11 Official course descriptor

Lecturer: Dr. Kami Vaniea
To contact: kvaniea at inf.ed.ac.uk (replace at with @)
Office: IF 5.23
Phone: 502870

This course runs in Semester 1. Lectures will be held as follows:

Day and Time Room
Monday    11:10-12:00 TBA
Thursday  11:10-12:00 TBD

Lectures

No.
Date
Time
Handouts
1
Mon 21 September 2015
11.10
HCIIntroductoryLecture.pdf
Lecture1.pdf
InteractionDesignCaseStudy-1.pdf
2
Thu 24 September 2015 11.10

3
Mon 28 September 2015
11.10
Lecture2.pdf
InteractionDesignCaseStudy-2.pdf
4
Thu 01 October 2015
11.10

5
Mon 05 October 2015
11:10

6
Thu 08 October 2015
11:10

7
Mon 12 October 2015 11:10 Lecture3.pdf
InteractionDesignCaseStudy-3.pdf
8
Thu 15 October 2015 11:10
9
Mon 19 October 2015 11:10 Lecture4.pdf
10
Thu 22 October 2015 11:10
11
Mon 26 October 2015 11:10 Lecture5.pdf
12
Thu 29 October 2015 11:10
13
Mon 02 November 2015  
11:10 Lecture6.pdf
14
Thu 05 November 2015  
11:10 Lecture7.pdf
15
Thu 12 November 2015
11:10
Lecture8.pdf
16
Mon 16 November 2015
11:10
Lecture9.pdf
17
Thu 19 November 2015 11:10 Lecture10.pdf
18
Mon 23 November 2015
11:10


Coursework

TDB

FEEDBACK


HCI Tutorials

Tutorials will be held every Monday, 16.10 to 17.00 and repeated from 17.10 to 18.00 in Lecture Theatre 3, Bristo Square, starting in the second week, until week eight. 

RECOMMENDED TEXTBOOK

Interaction Design - Beyond Human-Computer Interaction 3e by Yvonne Rogers, Helen Sharp and Jenny Preece
http://www.id-book.com/
ebook available: http://proquestcombo.safaribooksonline.com.ezproxy.is.ed.ac.uk/9780470665763
Don't Make Me Think, revisited a common sense approach to web and mobile usability by Steve Krug, 2014
ebook available from the library.

Useful links


ExamINATIONs

 

Informatics Forum, 10 Crichton Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9AB, Scotland, UK
Tel: +44 131 651 5661, Fax: +44 131 651 1426, E-mail: school-office@inf.ed.ac.uk
Please contact our webadmin with any comments or corrections. Logging and Cookies
Unless explicitly stated otherwise, all material is copyright © The University of Edinburgh